Freotopia > events >


The Colony of New South Wales, extending to Longitude 135°E, was proclaimed on 25 April 1787.

The British Government extended the western boundary of the Colony of New South Wales to Longitude 129°E on 16 July 1825.

The Colony of Van Diemen’s Land was proclaimed 3 December 1825.

The Swan River Colony was proclaimed 2 May 1829. It became known as the Colony of Western Australia in 1832.

References and Links

Pope, Geoffrey, James & Philip nd [2019-], Bound for Australia: The Ancestors of Geoffrey, James, & Philip Pope, unpubl. pdf.

Garry Gillard | New: 10 January, 2024 | Now: 10 January, 2024