Fremantle Stuff > schools > Community School (Fremantle)

Community School (Fremantle)

The Community School (Fremantle) was an alternative secondary school 1973-1983. The first premises were St Mary's Church and its hall in North Fremantle. In 1974 the School moved to Dalkeith House at 160 High Street, and then to the North Fremantle Town Hall 1980-83.

The School was founded in 1972, with others, by Gary Burke, who retired in 1975. Co-ordinators were Jim Thompson (1976-77), Jane Figgis (1978-79), Jim Matan & Dave Fry (1980), Lance Holt (1982), and Diana Downes-Stoney (1983).

References and Links

Burke, Gary 1990, Long Live the Jojoba Bean! The Story of the The Community School (Fremantle), Production Function, Balcatta.

Garry Gillard | New: 26 November, 2015 | Now: 12 May, 2020